Ronald D. Medlock, P.E., Receives SMDI/AASHTO Richard S. Fountain Award

WASHINGTON, DC, August 8, 2013 — The Steel Market Development Institute’s (SMDI) Steel Bridge Task Force and the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Technical Committee for Structural Steel Design have named Ronald D. Medlock,  P.E., as the recipient of the 2013 Richard S. Fountain Award. Medlock is Vice President – Technical Services for High Steel Structures, Inc. in Lancaster, Penn. SMDI is a business unit of the American Iron and Steel Institute.

Named for the founder of the Steel Bridge Task Force, the Richard S. Fountain Award recognizes leadership in steel bridge research and outstanding efforts to advance AASHTO specifications. Medlock received the award at the meeting of the Steel Bridge Task Force held on August 1 in Baltimore, Md. The award was presented by Alex Wilson, Chairman of SMDI’s Steel Bridge Task Force and Manager of Customer Technical Services for ArcelorMittal USA; and Gregory R. Perfetti, Chairman of the AASHTO T-14 Steel Bridge Structures Committee and State Bridge Design Engineer, Structure Design Unit, North Carolina Department of Transportation.  

“We are pleased to present this award to Ronnie Medlock, who has made many outstanding contributions to the steel bridge industry through his fabrication and welding-related code activities,” said Wilson. “He co-founded and leads the AASHTO/National Steel Bridge Alliance Collaboration, a group of steel bridge professionals who have published standards that make it easier for bridge owners, designers and engineers to choose steel for cost-effective bridge design solutions.” Wilson said that the Collaboration has published more than a dozen standards related to steel bridge detailing, shop drawing review, fabrication, inspection, coatings, bearings, erection and analysis. 

As Vice President of Technical Services at High Steel Structures, Inc., Medlock is responsible for steel bridge fabrication engineering and quality control and leads advances in technology, particularly with respect to welding and modeling. Before joining the company in 2006, he worked for the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), where he was responsible for steel bridge fabrication inspection. At TxDOT, he initiated the Texas Quality Council, a multi-disciplined group that established best practices for design, fabrication and erection of steel bridges in Texas. He also participated in the AASHTO Technology Implementation Group Panel on accelerated bridge construction. He is active in the following organizations and serves in committee leadership positions for several:  the AASHTO Subcommittee on Bridges and Structures, America Welding Society, American Railway Engineering and Maintenance-of-Way Association, National Steel Bridge Alliance, and the Transportation Research Board.

In 2010, Medlock was recognized with a Special Achievement Award by the American Institute of Steel Construction. He is a registered engineer in the state of Texas.

The Richard S. Fountain Award was established in 2001. Past recipients of the award include:

• Yoni Adonyi, Ph.D., P.E., professor, Omer Blodgett Chair of Welding and Materials Joining Engineering and MJE Program Coordinator at LeTourneau University (2012)
• Ahmad M. Itani, Ph.D., P.E., S.E., F. ASCE, professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Nevada, Reno (2011)
• John M. Kulicki, Ph.D., P.E., chairman and CEO of Modjeski and Masters, Inc. (2009)
• William J. Wright, Ph.D., P.E., Team Leader for Bridge Design and Construction Research, Office of Infrastructure R&D at the Federal Highway Administration’s Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center (2008)
• Donald W. White, Ph.D., Professor of Structural Engineering, Mechanics and Materials at the Georgia Institute of Technology’s School of Civil and Environmental Engineering (2007)
• Dean C. Krouse, Independent Consulting Metallurgical Engineer (2006)
• Dennis R. Mertz, Associate Professor, University of Delaware (2005)
• Camille Rubeiz, former Director of Transportation and Infrastructure, AISI (2003)
• Professor Karl Frank, University of Texas at Austin (2002), and
• Mike Grubb, BSDI Ltd. (2001)

SMDI’s Steel Bridge Task Force was formed more than 40 years ago to coordinate research that establishes safe, cost-effective steel bridges and to implement these developments into steel bridge design codes, specifically the AASHTO design codes. Its members include steel producers, steel fabricators, the AASHTO Technical Committee for Structural Steel Design, university faculty, consultants and representatives from the Federal Highway Administration and National Steel Bridge Alliance.

AASHTO is a nonprofit, nonpartisan association representing highway and transportation departments in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. It represents all five transportation modes: air, highways, public transportation, rail, and water. Its primary goal is to foster the development, operation, and maintenance of an integrated national transportation system.

AISI serves as the voice of the North American steel industry in the public policy arena and advances the case for steel in the marketplace as the preferred material of choice. AISI also plays a lead role in the development and application of new steels and steelmaking technology. AISI is comprised of 24 member companies, including integrated and electric furnace steelmakers, and 125 associate members who are suppliers to or customers of the steel industry. AISI’s member companies represent over three-quarters of both U.S. and North American steel capacity.

SMDI grows and maintains the use of steel through strategies that promote cost-effective solutions in the automotive, construction and container markets, as well as for new growth opportunities in emerging steel markets. For more news or information, visit or follow us on twitter at . SMDI investors include: AK Steel Corporation, ArcelorMittal Dofasco, ArcelorMittal USA LLC, EVRAZ Inc., Gerdau, Nucor Corporation, Severstal North America, SSAB Americas, Steelscape, Inc., ThyssenKrupp Steel USA, LLC, United States Steel Corporation, and USS-POSCO Industries.

Caption: Ronald D. Medlock, P.E. (third from left), receives the 2013 Richard S. Fountain Award from Gregory R. Perfetti (far left), Professor Dennis Mertz from the University of Delaware (second from left), and Alex D. Wilson. Photo by Steel Market Development Institute

Debbie Bennett
Manager, SMDI and Construction Communications
Steel Market Development Institute
Tel: 202.452.7179

Deanna Lorincz
Senior Director, SMDI Communications
Steel Market Development Institute
Tel: 248.945.4763