Metal Construction Association Elects Officers and Board of Directors at 2014 Annual Meeting

CHICAGO, IL, January 31, 2014 - MCA held annual elections for its officers and board of directors this past week at the 2014 Annual Meeting in Clearwater Beach. The 2014 Officers and Board of Directors include:

Chair: Karl F. Hielscher, Metl-Span
Vice Chair: Norbert Schneider, Umicore Building Products, Inc.
Secretary: Ed Karper, Akzo Nobel Coatings, Inc.
Treasurer: Dale Nelson, Roof Hugger, Inc.
Past Chair: Todd E. Miller, Isaiah Industries, Inc.

Also serving on the Executive Committee are:
Market Development Chair: Renee Ramey, Steelscape
Technical Committee Chair: Bill Croucher, Fabral
Metal Roofing Alliance President: Bill Hippard, Precoat Metals

Jim Bush, ATAS International
Bill Croucher
Jerry Hatley, Jr.,  International Metals Processing LLC
Bill Hippard
Laurel McLallen, Flexospan
Brian Partyka, Drexel Metals Inc.
Renee Ramey
Roger Sieja, Wismarq Corp.
Vlad Sobot, Sobotec Ltd.
David Stermer, Metal Sales Manufacturing
Don Switzer, Steel Dynamics
Jim Tuschall, Tuschall Engineering
Bob Zabcik, MBCI

Laurel McLallen, David Stermer and Bob Zabcik are all new additions to the board this year. "MCA welcomes the insight and input from our new board members," said Karl Hielscher, MCA Chair. "We look forward to the contributions from this talented group of metal construction industry professionals."

MCA's 2014 Annual Meeting was attended by more than 125 current members, interested parties, and guests. In addition to the election of officers, the meeting focused primarily on council and committee work, especially technical and market development activities, a state of the association report, and a reception and awards dinner. Kermit Baker, chief economist for the American Institute of Architects in Washington, DC, presented "Charting the Construction Recovery" during the Opening General Session.

For more information, please contact Cathy Szmurlo at